Photo by Jeff Sheldon on Unsplash

How to Solve the Retirement Problem

Reinvent Yourself and Design the Life of Your Dreams

Clifford Jones
5 min readMar 6, 2023

--

There are two problems with retirement in America.

  1. Most people can’t afford to retire. The National Institute on Retirement Security found that 63% of Americans do not believe they are on track to retire comfortably, and 40% have no retirement savings.
  2. Among the 53.5 million retired Americans, 10.7 million aren’t satisfied, according to the U.S. Census Bureau. That’s 20% of us!

This tells us that whether we are working, semi-retired, or retired, we will always face the same life challenges. This means we have the same opportunity to reinvent ourselves at any stage in life.

The way to solve the retirement problem is to design the life of our dreams starting now.

Design the Life of Your Dreams

I’m a Boomer, and most Boomers I know missed the boat when they worked a job they hated for two, three, or four decades only to retire rich, miserable, and unhealthy.

I knew I was unemployable in a traditional sense when I was in my late twenties working a hotel job. I felt miserable taking a bi-weekly paycheck for chunks of my soul.

“There has to be a better way to live,”…

--

--

Clifford Jones

Serving conscious, coachable company founders and leaders as an executive ghostwriter, brand-builder, and strategic coach.